I left my heart….in Seoul

Standard
"crypt" English service

“crypt” English service

24 years later

24 years later

Classic tribute to the song “I left my heart in san francisco”. However I did NOT leave my heart in S.F. just a but load of money and taxes thank you California.

I do realize that it has been about a week and a half since the last update.  However I have a really really really….really good excuse like I do with everything in life that I fail at.

I was busy.  Seriously. Like So busy. If you read last post (and everyone immedietly goes to read last post)  then you would know I was all over Seoul.  This past weekend I went to Busan.  Not to mention two weeks of laundry, dealing with a locked phone, and reorganizing my apartment.

But let’s start where we left off shall we?

SIDE NOTE: Yes i’ve begun to add pictures However I’m really dumb and I don’t know how to insert them where I want-so they are kind of all over the place. Again….sorry.

Seoul – maybe I’ve become accustomed to cities but other than the always crowded subway I found that Seoul was no worse than NYC.

I was told “Seoul is it’s own beast”/”seoul is like NYC on crack”. It was neither. I loved it.

After Vixx concert which was amazing, I spent the following morning going to church.

Easy right?

For the most part yes.  Now I will say this about Seoul metro-it is not always simple.  There will be times when one line will branch off into two seperate directions and take you the wrong way.  There are times when a simple thing like exiting out of the underground station can mean the difference between being literally next to your stop or five blocks away.

Luckily there is an app (free) called Seoul Subway-it’s blue and has a picture of a train on it.  USE IT!

Anyway back to church.  It took me a little bit longer than I anticipated. Like an hour from the time I left my hostel to the time I got to the church.  Mind you this is still in Seoul.  That’s how big the city is.   I found the church and only arrived 15 minutes late which wound up being not too late.

I’m a baptized episcopalian aka american anglican. This was the Seoul Anglican Cathedral.  It was huge.  Sadly the English service was relegated to the basement. Still nice, but I didn’t really get to see the inside of the cathedral.

outside of cathedral

outside of cathedral

Seoul Anglican Cathedral

Seoul Anglican Cathedral

chicken from heaven

chicken from heaven

Hangang Citizens Park Yeouido

Hangang Citizens Park Yeouido

Yeouido Park

Yeouido Park

It was a really nice service and almost felt like home.  I don’t know if it was the fact I was slightly worn out, feeling shockingly homesick or the fact I hadn’t been to church in over month but I admittedly started crying in the middle of the first reading.  I had to excuse myself to the bathroom-get it together-and return for the rest of the service.  I managed to hold it together and actually felt a little better afterwards.  I had been feeling moments of homesickness but I had been able to push them away.  But not in church.  I guess it’s true-you can’t lie in church.

How I desperately wish I lived in Seoul if only to attend church.  I’m glad that despite the 1 1/2 hour subway ride each way, I have found a place for christmas serivce.

After service ended I spent the rest of the day wandering around Seoul.  I wanted to hit up my adoption agency.  It was about 2 stops down from the church in Hongdae.

I had a feeling it wasn’t going to be open but it was still interesting to go to.  It was very close to the subway station which is good when I go back for a proper visit.  I will update you when I go.  I had planned on doing some shopping in Seoul but…there was just like nothing to buy.  I guess I wasn’t in the mood to really just “get lost” and really explore because I was on a time table. So clearly…shopping fail.

By this time I hadn’t eaten so…..I was PAINGRY! Yes I said paingry.  A term my dear old co worker used to use when she was so hungry she was angry.

I wound up findng a really nice place in Yeouido to eat an “Earl Grey” macaron-something I’ve been looking for for a long long long so long like August 2014 long time. And it was amazing.  No mom, don’t worry I didn’t just eat sweets. I found a street vendor in the Hangan Park-marinated chicken and green onion on a stick. It was so delicious and I was so beyond hungry

Yeouido was so pretty.  It was so nice to relax with actual grass.  You will find when you come to Korea that grass is nonexistent-every piece of land that grass could grow on is used as farming. So Yeouido was a nice GREEN change.

I wound up sitting on the steps for a little while, not wanting to leave. Why oh why did I live so far away?  But soon I had to head back to my town-1 1/2 hours south by subway.

It was the subway from hell.  I was already on edge because I was tired and my back hurt from lugging that full backpack around all day.  To top it off, everyone else and their entire extended family was leaving at the same time I was so I stood with my backpack for the entire ride home.  Like I said last post-subway ride from hell.

I got back with daylight to spare but I was so tired I didn’t bother with my laundry.  I figured I would get it done during the week.  Oh how wrong I was.

So that was part 2 to my seoul adventure.

I hope it was enjoyable.  If not….then don’t read next post.  Duh.

Next time on the real black and white dog archives of Korea: Busan Trip: catching up on (or not) weekend chores, train ride to Busan (all 4 hours each way), shopping and eating in Busan, BTOB concert, realizing I have two weeks worth of laundry needing to be finished.

UPDATE: I was just informed that both of my clases AKA ONLY classes tomorrow are cancelled so I will be updating tomorrow because ….I will be bored from 9-310.

 

Leave a Reply

