WOW (and yes this is an actual name of a kpop song)

Standard

So I don’t know how long it’s been or even what the last topic was but to quickly catch up……

Today: Cinderella (Ken’s musical), Chuseok (jeju), Gangwon-do,  Hangul Day (One K), Everland in the rain, and finally my now unwatned obsession with EXO (aka how I somehow fell in love with EXO and I don’t know why or how and I kinda hate myself a little bit because of it and how much crap I used to talk about them)

Cinderella:  Everyone knows I love Ken from VIXX.  I always say If I sounded like a boy when I sing, I would want to sound like him.  I guess I’m not sure if I want to be him or be with him……

Anyway, the last musical W and I saw him in was Chess.  It was my first musical in Korean…all in Korean.  The storyline, the singing….Ken….it was all so well done and amazing that I barely even noticed that it wasn’t in English.

This time around we sat a little closer…but I was dumb and forgot my glasses…thus couldn’t see all that well.  It was an interesting rendition of Cinderella-Kind of Rodgers and Hammerstien’s meets Ever after.  The first act was okay, but it was the second act that really made the show great.  Ken finally was Ken: after Cinderella left her slipper, Ken put it on his head, read the shoe size in total confusion..this was after one of the evil step sisters pointed at his face and yelled “Nose!”…..poor Ken.

After the show, his cute heart dance and hearts were so cute….damn you Ken…too cute.

Afterwards W and our other friend A all went to have dinner and then wandered around a bit before heading back.

The next day W and I wandered around Dongdaemun Plaza where we stumbled across the EXO paper toys and took more pictures with them.  This time however…I didn’t quite dislike them as much as before…and knew who these names were as well…

Chanyeol! (I know now his name)

Chanyeol! (I know now his name)

Adorable Kyungsoo ...those heart shaped lips

Adorable Kyungsoo …those heart shaped lips

Dongdaemun Plaza

Dongdaemun Plaza

Cinderella Cast...cutie Ken

Cinderella Cast…cutie Ken

The final weekend in September was Korean Thanksgiving.  Usually it’s a longer holiday (should have been 6 days) but thanks to MERS, it was cut to 4 days.

W and I made plans to do something and we wound up choosing to go to Jeju.  Ever since we watched VIXX do their One Fine Day season there we were dying to go.

Jeju was a really enjoyable trip.  Our pension was right on the beach so we were able to have the breeze every night with the sound of the ocean.

Our first day was entirely traveling.  After we arrived at Jeju, I wanted to nap but we had two choices: horseback riding or Love land.  (more on this disaster later).  I chose to go horseback riding but sadly our plans fell through and I was forced to go to Loveland.  Then we were given dinner-black pig BBQ.  As I don’t eat pork, a few of us were given “veggie” option…which consisted of a few potatoes, tofu, onions….it was less than appeitizing.  By the end of the day I was tired, annoyed, and starving.

Thank god the next day was better.

Our second day we hung around the beach (we didn’t decide to do the first trip) and got to relax.  I finally got the relaxtion I wanted.  It was defienetly needed-if we had done the first trip I would have been dead for the second day…which was what I was really looking forward to.

Our second day was our ONE FINE DAY VIXX trip.  We started out the same way as VIXX with a climb up Sunrise Peak.  It was only a 70 minute location stay, and W and I did it in about 60 minutes.  It was quite a view from the top, so beautiful, and the hike up was well worth the exercise-my calves burned for ages afterwards.

We moved on to my favorite part of the trip-Udo Island.

We took a short ferry ride over and had 4 hours of free time.

We were going to do ATV’s but sadly you need an international DL…and even though us Americans are clearly better drivers, all it allowed us was to rent bikes.

It turned out that the bike riding was so nice.  We only rode around about 1/4 of the island but it was a place I want to return to.

We also had the amazing peanut ice cream, and even found the cafe that VIXX was at.

After leaving Udo Island, we went to a hedge maze.  It wasn’t the same one as VIXX, but we managed to do it without any instructions (we ran through like crazies-actually I led the pack ) and we were among the first ones out!

The next day we headed back home-driving 7 hours-I finally got home around 1030…and promptly died.

The roughest part no doubt would have to be the actual traveling itself.  I had to leave pyeongtaek to be at a nearby rest stop at 12am.  From then it was a 7 hour travel by bus in Wando Ferry Terminal.  Needless to say I battled sleep loss for the entire trip. The ferry ride itself was not bad to Jeju…however coming back was entirely different.  It was so rough, people were throwing up all over the place.  I don’t get seasick but even I was feeling the rocking of the boat for the rest of the night.

WINK was the group that W and I used.  I think because they booked more people than initially planned, it made the trip suffer.  Horseback riding reservations weren’t booked properly, we had no time to see the Lava Tubes, and the “baked goods breakfast” was less that impressive.  If I did book a trip with them again at least I would know a head a time.  While the actual trip itself was great, I’m not sold on WINK’s ability to be organized (note: my other friends said their Busan Chuseok trip had a few snags as well).

Yes that's the real color of the water

Yes that’s the real color of the water

Sunrise peak

Sunrise peak

the top of Sunrise Peak

the top of Sunrise Peak

Jeju Water

Jeju Water

Jeju seafood! and seaweed noodles

Jeju seafood! and seaweed noodles

Hedge Maze! It's Harry Potter meets the maze runner

Hedge Maze! It’s Harry Potter meets the maze runner

Udo Island famous peanut ice cream

Udo Island famous peanut ice cream

Ferry From Wando to Jeju

Ferry From Wando to Jeju

Cafe in Udo!

Cafe in Udo!

12072715_10205127924337636_2340221033628409408_n

enjoying the ride

enjoying the ride

Udo Island

Udo Island

Jeju

Jeju

cute kids feeding the ponies

cute kids feeding the ponies

Gangwon Do-  The weekend following Chuseok W and a few of our other friends went on an “Enjoy korea” trip to Gangwon Do.  There was a KPOP concert at the High1 Resort.  As unoragnized as WINK was, Enjoy Korea had their shit together!

We left Seoul at 930 am and drove for about 4 hours.  I was still sleep deprived from the previous weekend. Luckily I only had a 3 day work week.

I slept the majority of the way but wound up waking up for the last hour and enjoyed the beautiful scenery.

High1 is an awesome resort! It’s on the top of the mountain.  We stayed in the condos and were able to ride the Alpine coaster first.

We had to ride the ski lift up which became very windy and very cold.  The ride down was even colder.  The apline coaster was about 40mph open seat….it was as thrilling as it was terrifying.

I wish we had been given more free time to wander around the resort.  It was so beautiful with the colorful leaves, beautlful mountains, cooler air, and green grass.  I saw a lot of kids playing soccer, and parents and kind of wished for a future like that of my own.  It was a surreal moment.

We had the concert that night and had to get ready so we had no free time.  Also, we had not been able to eat lunch or dinner…so the seoul bus was starving.  Luckily we had a concert focus on.

We then went to the concert where we saw :BTS GOT7 SHINee, EXID, Ailee, and of course VIXX. Sadly N wasn’t there (sobs).  But the true victor of that night was the freezing cold temperatures.  The wind was insane (poor Hani had almost been hit by a firework) and it was frigid cold.   Yes, I knew Gangwon would be cold but I wasn’t that prepared for HOW cold.

I told myself, I might have been born in Gangwon-Do but I wasn’t going to die there.  I suffered through the cold and we made it back to the condo where we ordered Dominos Pizza, got feeling back in our bodies and played a rousing game of “MFK” using our favorite kpop idols.

The next day we went to a shooting range (I hit none-not shocked) and caves (more like a maze).  Though the previous week of bussing had taken it’s toll on me, Gangwon was different.  We were treated to the beauty of the Gangwon Do.  The leaves were beginning to change colors.  The mountains were unlimited in any direction you looked.  I particulary remeber a small town surrounded by a range of mountains, a river and a bridge.  It was so pictureqsue I thought to myself “I would love to live here for a year.”

We got back to Seoul at a decent hour despite the heavy traffic.

I enjoyed it in some ways even more than Jeju Do.  I can’t wait to go back for Ski season!!

Riding up the ski lift...so beautiful and 100% unfiltered natural beauty

Riding up the ski lift…so beautiful and 100% unfiltered natural beauty

Driving in Gangwon

Driving in Gangwon

riding up the ski lift

riding up the ski lift

High1 Resort is so beautiful!!

High1 Resort is so beautiful!!

Caves that did not end

Caves that did not end

Valley in Gangwon

Valley in Gangwon

High1 Resort

High1 Resort

GOT7...I think

SHINee

completely beautiful and unfiltered (Gangwon )

completely beautiful and unfiltered (Gangwon )

view from our High1 condo

view from our High1 condo

I could live here (Gangwon Do)

I could live here (Gangwon Do)

GOT7 at Gangwon KPOP

GOT7 at Gangwon KPOP

Really cool modern arirang performance

Really cool modern arirang performance

Ailee

Ailee

Hangul Day: One K Last weekend was Hangul day aka The day the korean alphabet was invented.  Yes, we get a day off of work.  W and I went to the OneK concert which was while no where near as cold as Gangwon, still pretty chilly.  There were so many artists that night including our faves: BTS GOT7 EXID VIXX as well as others…including EXO (more on that later).

It was long and I was grateful for once it was a sitting ticket I had.  However..because the sound system wasn’t surround but rather front facing, the sound was not good.  It was at the world cup stadium which meant the sound went up and out instead of towards us, so it was a weird muffled sound for the entire concert.  But for 10,000 you couldn’t complain.

The next day….was interesting.  I was battling a cold (that I had developed from a weak immune system from traveling).  W and our friend A and I all went to Everland from Hongdae….on the subway.  I think it was about 2 hours or so.  When we finally arrived it was raining…and continued to do so off and on for the entire night.  W had wanted to see Simon D and I just wanted to ride the roller coasters.  Despite the rain, I managed to ride the T Express twice, including once in the front row.  I’m a pretty picky judge when it comes to roller coasters.  After King Da Ka its hard to impress me.  However the T Express was amazing! Awkwardly enough it made me drool-I wasn’t the only one.  It’s wooden but a pretty smooth ride and it’s a pretty long roller coaster as well.

I would have to go back when it’s not cold and wet and really enjoy it.

Vixx

Vixx

monsta x

monsta x

EXO

EXO

BTS

BTS

wonder girls

wonder girls

Everland

Everland

Everland

Everland

Everland

Everland

Everland

Everland

T Express

T Express

So that catches everything up for the past few weeks I think.

Now I did say I would talk about EXO but…I think I will leave that to it’s own post…..later…when I’m not overcome with shame.

The post following this one (be forewarned) will be all about KPOP/Halloween so if you aren’t interested…please tune out.

Leave a Reply

