Non related to the Halloween Countdown-Review, and forward

Standard

I was looking over some of my old posts.  I can’t believe that in two and a half months I will be flying back to the USA for a visit.  And it still won’t have been a year.

At times it feels like I’ve been here at least one year while others I can’t believe that I am at the stage where I need to think about contracts and locations for next year’s school year.

I also took a look at some pictures as well-I had bragged about my July music collection as growing and yet if it could see itself today….it’s more than double in sized, not including the concert DVD’s.

But I also saw that I’ve missed a few things.  This summer was crazy for man reasons.  It was my first summer camp, and I had to house sit for friends AND my parents came to visit-not to mention the insane concert/musical life I had.

I saw that I never talked about Teen Top concert back in August, still have yet to review “In the Heights” musical from last Friday as well as what I have come to know it as “EXO” problem.

So first Teen Top:  W loves Teen Top.  It’s her favorite KPOP band to the point where  she’s told me that  she can’t even listen too much because she’s overwhelmed by emotions.

W was able to buy two standing tickets because she’s apart of the fanclub.  I agreed to go with her and despite it being way too long of a concert it was so good.  I’ve bought two of their albums and their Hawaii DVD as well as becoming slightly obsessed with their Guam trip.  It’s a shame they don’t play festivals or promote as hard in Korea.  I know they are more popular abroad (except maybe Niel) and it was clear most of the fans were international at the concert.

It was obvious that despite Niel’s disfiguring large lips (Hey I love Niel…but his lips do not fit his face) he commands a stage.  CAP and LJoe had a really good duo that reminded me a little of TOP and GD.  Chunji’s solo stage was really good ….until the last few seconds where he cracked.  Sad.  Changjo (so manly despite being 19) sang which was strange since he clearly is the lead dancer.  Ricky’s solo was filled with a lot of emotion and tears …but they put his solo right after Niel, and sadly Ricky doesn’t quite have the presence or talent. It felt a little like a let down.

But as a group they really shine.  And they have songs that are catchy as hell. I’m pretty sure I went around singing “Supa Love” for a good two weeks after.   Seeing “Rocking” choereography live was also really impressive.  And because I had been listening to their latest album “Natural Born”  I found that I knew a lot of the songs.  I will be the first to say I’m glad that the stylists aren’t messed with the looks and hair as much. W did tell me they were aiming to be more manly…which I could understand why.

W is going to their fan meeting in Seoul on the 29th of Nov so she will die a happy death (this is of course after BTS on Saturday).

Next would be last Friday’s musical. For the past three months solid I’ve had booked weekends.  But as of now ….almost nothing planned.  So I chose last week to go see a musical.

With my latest EXO….thing (see below) I decided to go see Chen’s “In The Heights”. Unlike Ken’s musicals, there were so many amped fans with their Chen dolls, binoculars etc…it was like a concert without the insanity.

It was at the Blue Card Samsung Hall which is On the brown line out of exit 3.  It’s a pretty small theater but it was a very nice theater.  It was my first time going to a musical alone, but everyone was super nice.

I bought a notebook and a huge ass program.

The show itself was incredible.  Everyone was amazing and the sound was great.  The only issue I had was the girl who played opposite of Chen, while having a beautiful clear perfect voice, wasn’t able to project as well as the others and often was drowned out in sound when singing with others.

The story is about a group of latinos living in Washington Heights.  There is the bodega owner, hair salon owner, taxi owner and grandma.  I was curious as to how they were going to deal with the whole “spanish thing.”  Turns out they use a decent amount of Spanish.  Between reading the synopsis beforehand, Spanish, Korean and English I was able to follow along pretty well.

I think Chen missed his calling.  While in EXO i think he does shine (unlike others) his voice sounded more natural in the musical.

But whether it’s dancing in EXO or in a musical, he’s still…not good.  I told W he’s like the Ken of the group.  He looked like the people who stand at the back of the room during Zumba-a beat behind, overexaggerated hand and arm movement with 0 hip action.  This is not a judgement as someone who also stands in the back for Zumba…but I never believed the whole “Chen is a bad dancer”….because in EXO I guess they usually put him in the back where you don’t notice it but…there he was front and center…

Now of course as in Cinderella where Ken got his poor nose called out, Chen did have a “dance battle” with one of the other characters and proceeded to dance Growl.  It sent everyone into laugher.

But the most interesting part was when everyone went crazy because both TVXQ Changmin and EXO Baekhyun were in the audience.  You could even hear Baekhyun laughing at one point after Chen’s aegyo part.

The entire show was well put together, and the theater even had Japanese and Chinese subtitles on the side (sadly no english).  It’s a show I definetly recommend.

EXO

Ok here’s the thing…ask me 2 months ago if I liked EXO, I would have answered “while I might own their love me right repackage…there is a reason their poster is hiding behind all my coats…i can’t stand them and they all look alike.”

Ask me the same question today….i wish their was an emoji for my face now. It’s a mixture of frustration, self hate and annoyance.  Because right now, EXO somehow has destroyed my life in the same way VIXX did in March…but in some ways even worse.

I never really liked EXO from the first time I heard Wolf 2 years ago during my first few months of figuring out this KPOP song.  It came on Pandora so often that it was the only song I actively asked my friend to change.

it then progressed from there to stumbling across “Angel” piano cover and then eventually onto the song itself which I actively bought.  And it stayed in my iTunes KPOP realm.  I listened to it, enjoyed it, really loved one of the singer’s voice (I just knew it wasn’t Baekhyun/Bacon) but that was the extent of anything EXO.

Then the BFF gave me MAMA for some reason, and while the song is ok, it wasn’t something I went out of my way to listen to.  More like, if I needed a song to fill that last place on my CD.

Then I knew all about the drama with Kris leaving and then Luhan…and that was really it.

It wasn’t until I actually got the korea that i actively disliked EXO.  Thanks to the rumors of their fans and then experincing it firsthand really made me dislike them.  Then I came to the conclusion that they all looked the same and couldn’t sing (this was just blind hatred at this point) and the songs weren’t even good.

I ignored them at Dream Concert -in all fairness I was completely out of everything post VIXX- and only remembered the one with the man bun (Xiuman) and ugly outfits.

However…for some reason I decided on a fluke to buy their Love Me Right Album.  I liked the title track much better than Call Me Baby.  I didn’t really listen to it until one day I let my playlist play through and wound up listening to the entire thing.

Still it wasn’t enough to make me really like them.  I only liked Kai because I saw him in an episode of Running Man and found him attractive. (duh)

it wasn’t until I decided that it would be a great idea to watch EXO:Next Door because it was a short 15 episode 15 minute drama that I could finish in one day.  This was of course after suffering through School 2015….

Then when my parents were here, we became fanatics of nature republic who EXO endorses…and we wound up with a ton of fans…of course I had to send pictures of my friends asking which EXO person it was (hahaha oh the irony)

I don’t know what happened….one moment it’s just watching the show…next it’s learning names and faces…the next it’s watching a MV here or there…and listening to Love me right album, buying older albums…a slow decend into complete agony.

I really did everything I could, but when I realized that the voice I originally turned out to be my favorite, well the deal was done.

Then when we went to Gangwon for the concert…I loved VIXX…but I had a thought…I really can’t wait to see EXO next weekend.

Then at the OneK concert…I of course lost i over VIXX (didn’t help they had changed their hair and shocked W and I into repeating “Ravi’s hair is black/Hyuk’s hair is orange”) but then…proceeded to really lose it over EXO…like a crazy person.

Unlike VIXX, EXO is EVERYWHERE! They endorse everything, SM Town has huge stores with tons of merch….it’s hard to not absolutely lose it….and I have….

W thinks its absouletly hysterical that for a group I used to talk so much shit about (which I sadly acknowledge) and where I am now….well she likes to rag on me every once in a while.

And with the new EXO box coming out on Friday and VIXX comeback on leo’s birthday…well….wish me good luck for November.

I am thinking once the Halloween Countdown is finished….I will do another one regarding Thanksgiving…aka what are the songs/groups that I am thankful for/favorite songs…I think I might make it an 8 day challenge to make it a little easier on myself….once again I will have to fight the urge not to make it a vixx dominated list (why is everything so hard!) .  And if that turns out well then maybe a different theme ….every week? and limit to 7 songs…like “songs I can’t stand” or “best light concept”, “best dance” or whatever I feel like…because this is my blog….anyway tomorrow once again we will be back on track with our KPOP halloween count down.

🙂

Leave a Reply

