I want to hold your Hand

Standard

Today was the final lesson for 5-1.   I can’t believe that the end of the school year is fast approaching which means my first year here is almost finished!

With the the end of the year almost here (including Christmas) I think an assesment of each class and myself would be a good thing to do.

I’ve learned a lot teaching this past year-I’ve learned that some students need you to hold their hand through it all.

5-1 :

This was a class at the beginning of the year I wasn’t sure was going to make it.

The students level as a whole was incredibly low.  Because of this there was a total lack of participation and lack of caring.

They didn’t care about English or me and it was so disheartening that my co and I decided that we would have to rework the entire lesson just for them.

I had decided to implement this lesson, but the day of, 5-1 suddenly decided to perk up, raise their hands, and actually enjoy  the lesson.

I was stunned. I had no idea what happened but I was wary. It wasn’t probably until the third class in a row that I realized this was to stay.

5-1 quickly became a class that I no longer dreaded.  The students really started to respond well to me as well.  Whereas once they weren’t interested in interacting with me, they had questions, and wanted to talk to me.

The thing that I was really amazed was they at least were trying.  Even if their English was poor, they asked their friend or did their best to try to to get their point across.

Somehow 5-1 went from being  a class that I had to call on to a class that now is so talkitive.

I think because they are akin to a child that has come out of it’s shell, I make allowences for them that I don’t for other classes.

It might seem like favoritism but I how far they’ve come.

That being said, I don’t scold them when they decide to use the “f” word on each other, or tell them they are being too loud.

But I know how far they’ve come.  They might not understand it but they’ve taught me so much and I feel so proud of them.

In some ways, they were probably the class that taught me most.

I really wish that their 6th grade English teacher will take the time to understand them next year.

5-9

I don’t know where to begin. Originally, they were a class I really liked.  Sure they were rambunctious but they were smart.

I don’t know exactly when it happened but about 2 months ago or so, the problems became extremely noticeable.

I always though my co teacher was being too harsh on them.  Sure my one student had ADHD and was often distracted but he was smart.

I then learned that their homeroom teacher was completely unable to control them.

Then the fighting began, then not doing their work at all.

It was so frustrating to me because half of the class that wanted to learn is very bright and wiling.  But they were punished along side their classmates.

Then the VP got involved.

It didn’t seem to help.

Then their homeroom seats changed completely and all the troublemakers sat next to each other in the back.

Then certain students started showing up 10 minutes late as if nothing was the matter.

I’ve never been more frustrated with a class-even 5-1 at the beginning of the year.

Then during the time that my co was unable to teach her class due to our other co worker dying that day I offered to teach her class.

The good half was very good, but the bad half was disgusting to me.

I won’t go into detail but I had to kick one student out of the room. It became clear they had no respect for me.

As much as a vengeful person as I can be I know they are students and children.  So I let me co deal with it. And deal with it she did.

Though the corporal punishment is outlawed, that didn’t stop her from having the half that treated me like shit do 50 of some sort of arm motion in the office while I taught the rest of them.

It was kind of nice, teaching the children that actually came to class on time and cared about learning.

At the end of class they were lectured and when my co asked me if I had anything I wanted to say I thought about it,

 

No amount of yelling or screaming or threatening will make them want to learn. I gave them a lot of chances and some of these kids will face the reality of how harsh the world is when they become middle schoolers. But for now I simply told them that I can’t force them to learn.  They are old enough to know to do the work without me needing to hold their hand.

If they didn’t want to do the work then they didn’t have to.  Granted they might not learn and get a poor grade on their test but it was up to them.As long as they were quiet in my classroom.

But if they wanted to make noise and say bad words and disrupt those who wanted to learn then they would be told to leave my classroom.

I don’t know how well it translated and I don’t know how effective it was.

Today was the best they have been in a while.  I wasn’t standing over them making them do their work and if it wasn’t completed when they were called on, they simply lost points for their coupon book.

I don’t think at that age they have the capacity to see how this kind of attitude will negatively impact their lives.  I didn’t. But I also didn’t openly mock my teacher and flip them off. So while I understand they are children, they are about to enter the sixth grade and where most children should have at least basic manners, some of these children are clearly lacking them.

Some I think need to get professional help like the one extremely disruptive ADHD student. I tried to be patient with him and let him do his own thing but when he became a hinderence to others, it became a problem and he was sent to the see the VP.

Next year the classes will be changed and the students will have new classmates.  I’m interested to see if some of these disruptive students will be policed by some of my other students and so on.

While in some classes, certain students have taken charge to police the class, this class, the students who are interested in learning I think have either given up or just don’t care.

I’m just glad that today at least they were manageable and I will never have to teach them another lesson again.

Next week the rest of my classes have their final class with me and some of those I’m really looking forward to in a sad way.

As for KPOP, after hearing so much about TWICE (and finally learning that they are products of 16 JYP show that I watched once with Whitney) I decided to finally listen to their song that has taken over.

It’s catchy as hell. It’s been on replay.  I also looked up the lyrics as well and surprisingly they are actually easy to sing a long to. The pacing and flow and words work really well for someone like me who is trying to get better at reading at a faster pace.

I think it’s a great debut song and the MV while a little creepy (I hate zombies) isn’t bad.  The only thing I really dislike is the part in the dance where they jump..I just think it’s an awkward thing.

Everyone says that the rest of the EP is horrible which is sad .

Anyway, give it a listen!

As for a song I’ve been anticipating for quite a while now, EXO released their winter comeback single last night at midnight.

I’m pretty new to the EXO fandom so I didn’t go through the heartbreak of Kris, Tao and Luhan.I arrived to Korea right as EXO’s promotion of Call Me Baby started and I remember walking through the record store with Whitney as the new album was released.  And then the Tao news broke.

I admit, while I love how simple and chill and stripped down this song is, the MV left me really confused.  I mean yes, the whale and Sehun as an astronaut is confusing on it’s own. But Chanyeol fighting Suho, and then members disappearing from the basketball court, bar, and DO’s car. Not to mention Kai’s mental breakdown in his hotel room.

But then I read a theory: all the crap that’s happened with the three members leaving and the drama surrounding them has probably been really hard on them but they’ve struggled through.  That maybe these are internal feelings of lonliness, isolation, losing friends and anger they had felt.  In the MV it opens with Sehun just floating in space and everyone happy.  But one by one they dissappear and the members that are left are angry/sad and then Kai starts destroying the hotel room.

Then there’s Chanyeol and Suho beating the crap out of each other, but still Chanyeol wants Suho to stay before Suho disappears.

In the end, the members start slowly coming back and they are together again and happy.  And Sehun finds a whale …which is the part that still has me all sorts of confused.

The MV itself is pretty simple but I guess after reading all these EXO-L s theories…it becomes extremely sad and bittersweet. I guess what I take away is that the happiness they used to have destroyed them when the members left or went off to do their own things but now that they are back together, they can be okay again.

While Miracles in December is this huge production-the MV and the sound with the orchestra and the vocals, this by comparison is so simple it’s almost laughable. But I think it shows their maturity.  They are able to pull it off were as some other groups might not have the vocal talent to do so.

I’m no going to deny the fact it’s nice to hear DO’s voice really clearly and that he was given more lines than Love Me Right.

But have a listen. While it might not be a “christmas” song it’s got that winter feeling to it.  And we will have their second title track to wait for as well. I’m hoping for a more Christmas sound or maybe a non despressing theme as seems to be EXO’s christmas  single trend.

Whitney also told me that Jellyfish announced their Christmas single to be coming out On the 15th at midnight!  Just what I need-more VIXX in my life.  Speaking of VIXX- Leo’s hair is now short and brown…..I’m probably alone in this thought but I love it short and while I wish it was black, the brown is still better than blonde.

But more on VIXX when Jelly Christmas is realesed.  For now, enjoy EXO’s Sing for You and if you need a pick me up after the sadness, give TWICE’s OOH-AHH 하게 a listen.

Leave a Reply

