On the 7th day prior to Christmas…

Standard

….I went to the Nutcracker Ballet in Seoul.

Clearly if you read the post before this one, you will know I am going to see the Nutcracker tomorrow but due the fact I will be traveling and ballet watching and yes…..shopping..I will not have time nor access to a computer as I will be in Seoul.

 

I will give my update on Monday which will also have Sunday’s post in it as well. If you don’t understand what I just said…like this.

Friday (today) Friday post and Saturday Post

Monday -Sunday and Monday post

 

If anyone actually cares about it.  I admit it’s weird when I see that people actually like or read my blogs.  Or maybe you just look at the pictures. Or maybe you just need a laugh and find that I spazz over my cute students and KPOP funny.

I promise I am not this funny in real life.

 

Before I get into the Christmas song part, to make this post a little interesting and a little longer, I will say…my sink clogged.

Yep. Really lame. But it did about a few….days ago and at the suggestion of my dear friend I used Drano…like 3 bottles of it.  And it kinda worked…and then it didn’t. And I got upset and put it off because that’s the kind of person I am.  Just like with laundry and dishes.  Don’t want to deal with problems now..so put off until it becomes a huge problem.

 

Turns out I finally told my co yesterday.  School’s contract plumber took a look at it, and BAM within 2 hours fixed. Korea you give me hope with you plumbers that show up when they are supposed and do the work quickly. Same goes from medical care.

Seriously…if you ever have any kind of medical problem come here.  Cheap, effective, clean and fast as lightening.

Though I will admit I will be a little wary when I first pour something down my drain tonight.

 

Second point to make this longer…hmmm winter camp?

 

I mentioned that I’ve become a workaholic this past week.  I mean though it might seem strange if I get dedicated to a point at work I will be there for hours on end.

I think that’s why my eye has been twitching the past day.  Too much time at my computer.

 

So I figured winter camp might not be as bad. And it’s definitely not. While I do have a lot to do, I’m really enjoying it.  I literally had to tear myself away from work last night an hour after I was free because I wanted to continue. But the heat was off, and I was afraid that I might get locked in the school.

 

I’m really enjoying it because I think now I know what to expect.  I’ve also improved and changed a few lessons.  I’m really happy with the way things are shaping up so those two weeks before I leave for America won’t totally suck.

 

Next to make this post longer….my Korean is improving.  I mean it’s not incredible and still I can’t spell (I can’t spell in English that well either as I have admitted to my students. I also told them I can’t do math which they think is cute).

But I feel more comfortable with words and trying them out.  It also helps that a bunch of my students wanted to help me yesterday instead of watching the movie I put in.  Everyone tells me I sound really cute when I speak Korean.

I’m not someone to stroke their ego or ask for compliments. In fact I really beg people not to. But it’s reassuring to me that they are happy that I’m trying.  It also keeps me humble as a teacher and things in perspective for my kids.

There…I think that is sufficently long enough to now post Christmas song.  Also…because it’s almost time to leave and my desk is a mess.

 

No, I’m not a crazy Christian lady. No I don’t go around proclaiming that Christian hymns are the best.  However, Church music really makes Christmas for me. It’s one of my favorite parts of Christmas and it will be the hardest part (apart from being away from my family) of missing Home Christmas.

Every year since I was a baby,  I always went to Christmas Eve service.

Whether it be 4 services (that was insane and I was exhausted the next day) because I was in 2 choirs, or just 10pm service because I had to work until 5pm, I always made it.

I don’t like to brag about myself, but I will always brag about my church. Not only is it beautiful, and historic, but it’s an accepting community. We have an openly gay and married deacon. 2 of our reverends are female.

But our crowning jewel is a music program that really has no match. I was lucky to grow up with this and participate in the choirs.  And I was spoiled by it.  I don’t mind when I go to Catholic service on Christmas Day with the family ( my dad prefers it) but the music pales in such comparison it’s sad.

No one does Christmas like St. John’s Episcopal Church.

This is one of my favorite songs that was always played at the end of the Nativity Sermon. (This is not my church.)

 

I hope you all have a good weekend and I will enjoy myself in Seoul for the ballet and spending money 🙂

Leave a Reply

