Because I’m (about 90%) happy

Standard

1 difficult class down, 1 to go.

Maybe it’s the weather.

Maybe I’m not sick anymore.

Maybe my co teacher is slowly getting uses to the book.

Maybe the kids are finally getting more comfortable with me.

I don’t care. So far this week has been so enjoyable that I’m wanting to get up and go to work everyday.

I’m excited for the kids to learn,

This year has been one of the most trying times for me. New kids, lower levels, a co teacher who I kind of need to baby…it’s been a lot of work.

And last week showed me just how bad it can get if I let it.

This week for the most part things are better. The lessons are becoming a little more enjoyable for the kids.

Today was a test to make sure Monday and Tuesday weren’t flukes.

And while it wasn’t as good as it should have been (more on that later) it was a far cry better from what it has been.

So my 5-3 class is rowdy, loud and they don’t like to have to pay attention. Sadly this was true today-kids were talking, fighting, paying with their pencils etc.

And my co teacher couldn’t really stop it. Luckily a few students really took it upon themselves to try to keep students quiet.

Even though I said I was going to leave everything up to my co teacher, I had to on a few occasions stop the class and ask them to be quiet because it was so out of control. I like to nip situations in the butt while she lets it go on until it becomes out of control.

Another issue and what I’m really worried about is the fact the kids couldn’t even answer questions from this chapter or last chapter. I think it still attributes to the fact she doesn’t make them talk or repeat after her to get used to talking. She’s getting a little better but it’s not good that kids can’t respond when she asks “how are you?” (even a “fine” or “okay” i accept at this point because at least they are answering).

Now on to the good side. The kids seemed mostly interested in today’s lesson. I have built in a few games and activities to keep their attention. Even my special student Han Gyul was extremely talkitive today, and repeated after me in English. I still am shocked that he likes English. I would guess that maybe he feels he’s closer on the other students levels because it’s something they’ve really only been learning for 2 years and some kids really struggle with it because teachers just pass them on.

But I don’ think he has that capability. But it doesn’t matter because he seems to enjoy the attention I give him.

As usual Do Eun, his seat partner is so attentive and kind to him. She is already noe of my favorite students-I do my best not to favor her. Also another semi trouble maker (his English is much higher so he becomes bored in class and then disruptive to other students) really engages with Han Gyul. I love seeing that the other tudents really make efforts.

I’ve never really seem any kind of systematic bullying yet because I think the homeroom teachers at this school are extremely attentive about stuff like that.

I know that’s not to be the case everywhere as W messaged me telling of her own 4th graders writing notes about lower level students and cussing. The class had always had a bullying problem even last year. I’m glad to say I’ve yet to see that.

I’ve had cases but they were individual situations. And the kids here know I don’t tolerate laughing and am very patient with lower level students.

So let’s just hope tomorrow’s class will behave or at least try to. Then home free for Friday’s class!

I also saw some of my older students from last year. While a lot of the boys are shooting up and becoming giants, sadly my little Dion is still the tiny small cute self that he was all of last year. I miss him so much.

But now onto Wednesday ….MUSIC WEDNESDAY!

So I’m actually having this broken down into two sections. I wanted to review the BTOB and Block B comebacks ….but then VIXX dropped this ….art teaser and I cannot NOT talk about that. So first we will look over BTOB/Block B.

It’s spring time and for kpop that means two things: cherry blossom and couple songs. March saw the return of couple songs with Eric Nam/Wendy, Yoona/10cm, Jimin/Minseok. They were all really good! And sweet.

Between BTOB and Block B there are enough Cherry blossoms to rival Japan. It wasn’t enough they were released on the same day, same time, with cherry blossoms in the mid tempo feel. But that’s pretty much where the similarities end.

BTOB:

I guess they did a 3 part ballad series ….that no one knew about? Or at least that’s what I’ve been hearing. I liked “It’s Okay” , but I wasn’t really into “Way back home” (I felt the song got lost in the MV). So when I heard this was also a slwoer song I wasn’t too happy.

But unlike the previous two, it’s less of a straight up ballad. It sounds happier, feels lighter and fits the season right now. As a whole, the album to me is much more enjoyable and seems to go well together. It’s only a mini but I love it so much more than the past two that have come out.

The MV…is okay? If your a Minhyuk fan you have to be happy…or maybe not. But I felt that the others got really shifted. I’m hoping they put out a live version where we can see the members singing as well. The aesthetics are nice, especially Peniel’s but I feel the others stories really got lost in editing. We really only get a comprehensive understanding of Minhyuk….so why is Hyunsik submerging himself in a bathtub…it felt a little mismatched…we only see the rest of BTOB at the beginning and the end of the MV.

But the song more than makes up for it. I’m really happy.

BLOCK B:

Over a year! It’s been so long since their last comeback.

Their last comeback was “Her”. It was very different than their previous sound. They had mentioned that they didn’t want to become trapped in a certain sound which is understandable.

But then they put out this kind of mid tempo slow jam that seems to be a really popular thing right now. So for me…it didn’t feel like anything special.

There are parts that I really like-Zico’s rap, P.O.’s (drunken bar angst?) part, and Taeil at the end. But overall it kind of fell short of what I was wanting. I kind of wish PO’s part was in more of the song…

Between BTOB, GOT7, Red Velvet,all the spring couple songs…I really didn’t want another kind of mid tempo song.

Something else that bothered me a little here, though it wasn’t as much of an issue as GOT7’s was, but the chorus kind of feels lost. And though there is like a slight build up …ultimately is just kind of ends.

I like it for a pre release, or if I knew there was a second title track (considering how long they’ve been on a break they should put out a second one) but like “Got to go to work” for Beast…I just don’t think it feels like a title track.

I know a lot of people who don’t really like Block B like the song, like W, but i’m starting to feel these songs are all having the same kind of feel. (another would be like Dean X Gaeko’s half moon).

 

I’m ready for something else….and that’s why we are switching to VIXX.

 

 

THANK GOD for VIXX! A few years ago I had my “one year VIXXiversary”.

How different things would be if I never went to that concert.

Vixx did the kind of smooth feel with Chained Up. And while I loved it, I am ready for VIXX to be something different. And thank god VIXX is VIXX.

While everyone is obsessing over the art work and meaning I’m focused on the sound. It sounds huge…like movie soundtrack huge.

I don’t know if this is will be the intro, but in a slight way it reminds me of Error’s intro (and BAD for inifinite) where it is a slight variation of the song-I hope to God that it is. It sounds awesome-the strings with the synth sound middle break down…I’ve been waiting for this.

Now that the art concept has many theories..and I really don’t care what they are-it’s VIXX …enough said.

While I am a lone fan who loves their lighter concepts, I appreciate the dark VIXX feels. It definetely has that VIXX feel that Chained up didn’t quite have.

I know a lot of people started to like VIXX because of Chained UP while a lot of starlights didn’t care for the song….I’m torn on it. I both liked it because it was awesome and different but I understand the feeling  of wanting the old VIXX sound.

It makes sense for groups to grow and change the sound, but sometimes you want that old sound back-which for VIXX most people associate them with darker concepts.

I also heard that this is going to be a year long comeback. While that sounds horrible (MADE bigbang anyone?) I’m thinking it might be like Hyde and Jekyll comeback where it was repackaged-they were different themes but they were compliments to each other. So that would be okay-and  I love the dark to fun contrast.

Whatever VIXX puts out I’ll be happy. And then I’ll have a small time to recover before EXO’s summer comeback….

Overall I felt satisfied and pleased with BTOB (though I want something else than ballads…let’s get some Thriller or You’re so Fly BTOB), disappointed with Block B’s comeback (the smooth feel is starting to make songs sound the same and annoys me that the structure makes the song feel compromised) and can’t wait for VIXX.

Luckily I really only have a few groups I’m focusing on now. VIXX comes first with EXO being second now (Block b’s long hiatus and dissappointing comeback, Beast inactivity and whatever the F Cube is doing, BTOB year long Ballad comebacks, Bigband’s dissappointing and annoying MADE series) and Mamamoo.

Some rookie groups like Astro feel fresh, and while I don’t like them I think 17 has a lot of potential ( I should look up some of their stuff considering I’m now part of the fan club).

Groups like GOT7 and BTS are becoming really popular but personally I just don’t like their music.

Older groups like 2pm, Beast, 2ne1, wonder girls-their inactivity is really becoming an issue for keeping popularity. I know 2pm and Beast have been dealing with their Japan side, but both haven’t really had much promotion during their 1 comeback a piece last year. YG…..don’t get me started. CL’s been making her solo debut for like a year…while 2ne1 sits idle. Other groups are coming -TWICE, G FRIEND etc…not to mention the train wreck that was Ikon and subsequently Winner…overall I’ve been so disappointed in YG that it makes me forget how big of a Big Bang fan I was…

So the next few months all the way until October will be interesting. The comeback season is about to start up and with groups coming out with 2/3 comebacks a year now at the least..it’s going to be a full summer.

So that’s it for music wednesday…it kind of turned into something more than I intended it but I needed to get my YG frustration and smooth mid tempo spring song boredom out.

  • A lot of comebacks coming out in end of March all the way through insane April.
  • BTOB, Block B, Boys Republic, N Sonic, Day 6-all are out now…two debuted on the same day….the other three debuted on the same day…insanity…START

 

Leave a Reply

