This is (almost) Halloween!

Standard

Today is the third day of my 13 days of Halloween Song challenge.

After getting started with the amazing Michael Jackson and then venturing into the KPOP world, today is something that haunted my childhood.

As an English teacher in Korea my kids are oddly excited about Halloween. So I try to make things a little exciting for them.

I remember as a student anything that was holiday, or out of the ordinary always made me very happy.

So I decided to make a candy guess and various other things that I will talk about during next week’s actual post.

But I wanted to mention it because I chose to use “This is Halloween” from Nightmare Before Christmas as an opening video.

Kids here really love slightly weird/creepy/animation things. So naturally they would love this. Some of them were a little irked by it. Even though the movie is rated PG it still is a slightly grotesque movie at times.

When I was growing up this was a very popular movie when it came out an has been ever since. It was my first taste of “Tim Burton” . But I wasn’t actually allowed to really watch it. It was “contraband”. My mom said it was too scary (and too this day it still is according to her). Oddly enough sex and horror were things I wasn’t really allowed to watch growing up but action and violence were okay which is probably the reason why I can handle that genre of movie well.

To this day I’m still easily freaked out by scary/horror movies. Thrillers are one thing but I do have a limit that is pretty low for a 26 (YIKES ALMOST 27) year old.My students love zombies and don’t understand why their teacher is afraid of zombies.

Haunted Houses, corn mazes, Haunted Forest….anything along those lines are extremely painful for me. I mean in a Tao crying. Baekhyun drooling, Kyungsoo running, Luhan screaming kind of way (Hint: watch EXO Showtime when they go into the haunted house…it’s a riot).

But I do love Halloween-to me it represents a little bit of creepiness with some good kid fun and all things autumn is known for-apple cider, cool nights, crisp apples, pumpkin flavored everything, candy, scented candles etc.

But living in Korea really deprives me of all of that. So now Halloween is just a thing that I use to get my kids excited so they don’ t realize they will be in school non stop until New Years.

Now I did find subtitles for this for any English teacher looking for them “크리스마스 악몽” (Literally Christmas Nightmare) and I have it posted below. The song in English is hard enough to understand at times and I noticed the kids this year with the subtitles were more into it than last year. If you are looking for the entire movie you might want to check your school’s library which is where I found mine, or on Gmarket for about 13,000 -just be aware it will need to be Region 3 (Asia)

Leave a Reply

